BREAKING News: Indian ODI squad for South Africa tour announced

Indian ODI squad for South Africa tour announced

The Indian team is currently enjoying a golden period in the limited overs format, winning comprehensively against all teams that have toured India in the last year or so. The only hurdle that they faced with respect to limited overs cricket was when South Africa came out roaring last year, taking the Indians by surprise after having lost the Test series in emphatic fashion.

India now prepare themselves to tour South Africa and they would be hoping that they can give it back to South Africa in their own den.

Virat Kohli and co. would be itching to prove their worth in foreign conditions after having largely played most of their cricket in home conditions in the past two years.

They would however, take heart from their performance in the Champions Trophy , wherein the Indian team adjusted brilliantly to foreign conditions, reaching the finals, and suffering a shock defeat to arch-rivals Pakistan.

BCCI had announced the team for the Test Series two weeks ago, with Bumrah making his debut appearance in the squad, and they have now gone onto announce the ODI squad as well, drafting in Shami, who has had a long break from ODI cricket.

The big exclusion is that of KL Rahul, who would be excruciatingly disappointed to have missed out on the bus, despite impressive performances in Indian colours off late.

Indian Squad for South Africa series

Squad: Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni, Ajinkya Rahane, Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzi Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohammad Shami and Kedar Jadhav.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *